Reviews

What people are saying about Rocklea




Really Lovely Guest House :) - Rating 5/5

The hosts are wonderful and the house is beautiful! The cooked breakfast was perfect and a great range of fruits, cereals, yogurts etc. were also provided which was a really nice touch. Our superior room was beautifully furnished and spotless. Would highly recommend to anyone!

Reviewer:gemma b | Tue 6th Nov 2018 | 1 week ago


Absolutely Fabulous - Rating 5/5

We visited the Lakes 26th - 28th October for our anniversary weekend. Paul was a fantastic host and made us feel very relaxed and welcomed from the moment we arrived. He was very attentive during breakfast and runs a smooth ship. The rooms were beautifully decorated and clean and a whistle. The bathrooms have also obviously been refurbished recently and everything was very modern. There is a pub just opposite which is convenient for a late night drink and the staff are super friendly and have a good menu with huge portions. An all round amazing first trip to the Lake District. P. S Visit the waterfalls all around 20-30 miles away from the guesthouse if you can.

Reviewer:Chris S | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Wonderful guest house - Rating 5/5

Would really recommend this guesthouse for anyone, Lynn and Ian were very welcoming and helpful with navigating the area and where the best spots to eat are! Room was very clean and modern, plenty of room and breakfast was plentiful.Great location only 15 minute walk down to the lake. Me and my partner are wondering when we can next go back!

Reviewer:Ryan D | Wed 17th Oct 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Loved our stay at Rocklea. Clean comfortable perfect location the host was so helpful and provided the best breakfast of all the B and Bs we stayed in.

Reviewer:Angela G | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


twotravelingtogether - Rating 5/5

we have enjoyed staying with you forour short break the breakfast was most enjoyable with a very good choice of fruit, cerials, yogurt with a good cooked breakfast our host Lynn and Ian was veryhelpfuland could not do enough for usThe room was very clean and comfortable with a good bathroom thanks Lynn and Ian

Reviewer:Mavis W | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Fantastic B&B - Rating 5/5

Wow we had a fantastic stay at Rocklea the breakfast was delicious the room spotless & the hosts welcoming.Thank you for recommending the Mountain Goat trip & organising pick up right outside the door :)

Reviewer:Jayne H | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Stayedin Rocklea - Rating 5/5

It was lovely stayin in Rocklea .Room was super !Ian and Lyne was wonderful!Excellent food! We will come again !

Reviewer:Gizela C | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


The best house - Rating 5/5

This hotel makes me feel like a home. The landlords are very kind and helpful. I will choose it again,if I come to Windermere.

Reviewer:LIANG D | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


An excellent week with beautiful weather- Rating 5/5

Thank you for such a lovely week! My sister and I stayed in the twin room, it was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. Breakfast was delicious every morning - so much choice! - and Ian was a great host ,happy to accommodate whatever you wanted every day.

Reviewer:Sophie H | Wed 23rd May 2018 | 5 months ago


Great stay- Rating 5/5

Me and my boyfriend had a great weekend staying at Rocklea. Very central, two mins from Windermere centre and 20 min walk to Bowness, only £3.50 if you wanted to take a taxi.Hosts were amazing & helpful. Superior room was lovely and had everything you needed.Breakfast delicious!Thank you very much Rockea.

Reviewer:Harriet D | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Rocklea guesthouse- Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation and customer service. Central position.

Reviewer:Stephen M | Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 7 months ago


Lakeside- Rating 4/5

Lovely stay beauifull place breakfast was very nice wish it would have been for longer thank you for having us .

Reviewer:Wendy m | Sun 18th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Great guest house. Great location between Bowness and Windermere. Spotlessly clean. Probably the best breakfast in the Lake District. Ian is a superb host who genuinely goes out of his way to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Reviewer:Chris C | Thu 2nd Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

Rocklea....couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. Lovely helpful,friendly hosts, comfortable, well situated room, and delicious breakfasts with so many choices. Definitely be back. Thank you.

Reviewer:Sandra H | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


great holiday - Rating 5/5

very friendly and helpful proprietors good parking for our motorbike and is situated in a quiet area will stay here again this was our second time cannot recommend it enough

Reviewer:virginia h | Sun 17th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


great holiday - Rating 5/5

very friendly and helpful proprietors good parking for our motorbike and is situated in a quiet area will stay here again this was our second time cannot recommend it enough

Reviewer:virginia h | Sun 17th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Amazing Place - Rating 5/5

My wife and i stayed here for our first visit to the Lake district after reading reviews on Trip Advisor.We're so glad we did !! Everything that was said was true,This is a Superb Guest house run by Really Lovely people.It's Clean,comfortable,conveniently located,and the breakfast served was second to non.I could not recommend this place highly enough.Thanks Lynn and Ian.

Reviewer:Steve P | Sat 16th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Would strongly recommend- Rating 5/5

Have just returned from a four night stay at this lovely guest house. Bedroom spotless, breakfasts delicious, hosts helpful and friendly, location ideal, a short walk from the railway station and a short walk from the boats, shops and restaurants of Bowness. Hope to return.

Reviewer:Mrs Teri K | Sat 19th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


stay in lake district - Rating 5/5

very helpful en friendly.nice room.very good breakfast!

Reviewer:kurt c | Mon 31st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent place to stay!- Rating 5/5

This is a great place to stay! Lovely, comfortable, modern rooms. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was delicious. I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

Reviewer:Kevin D | Sun 9th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Our stay at Rocklea - Rating 5/5

The room and bathroom were very clean . Ian was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble . The selection for breakfast was really good.

Reviewer:Melvyn K | Wed 5th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent, clean, and homely B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent, clean, and homely B& B located in a very convenient location just outside (but an easy walk) of Winderemere village.Lynn & Ian were fantastic hosts, very friendly and helpful with local suggestions for food, walks and travel.What really stands out is the breakfast:the quality and selection is amazing, especially the variety of fresh fruit (by far the widest choice I have seen, and that is in comparison to many other five star hotels I have stayed at across the world!)Thoroughly recommended!

Reviewer:Miss. Wai Sau C | Sun 2nd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

We had a very comfortable 3 nights at Rocklea the breakfast was superb, the room comfortable and the attention from our hosts was excellent

Reviewer:Hazel D | Thu 8th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


A perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for three nights and had such a nice stay. Rooms are cleaned really well and had lots of storage space for clothes etc. Staff are extremely friendy and accommodating. Breakfast cooked to perfection every time and plenty of choice in food. Would defiantly recommend this place and would consider staying again in the future.

Reviewer:Sophie B | Wed 31st May 2017 | 1 year ago


A great place to stay. - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely couple of days in the Lake District which was enhanced by the warm welcome and very pleasant accommodation which was in a great location for exploring the Lakes. We had a large light airy room, everywhere was clean and tidy, our hosts were very attentive, there was a large range of fresh fruits and cereals as well as a full English breakfast on offer. Highly recommended we would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:anita l | Wed 31st May 2017 | 1 year ago


a great place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Excellentlargeroom with a comfortablebed and anice bathroomover lookinga babblingbrook. Breakfastwas excellent withfreshfruitand berriesthe highlight. The position was also handy to everything.

Reviewer:charles b | Thu 11th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian